whiterthansnow-cover3I have been so blessed by this book. The meditations of Paul Tripp on Psalm 51 really draws out my heart. I don’t quite know how to express my experience, other than the words from these pages really resonates in my heart. Here’s an excerpt from chapter 3, ‘Something in my hands I bring’. A meditation on Psalm 51:17 “The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God. You will not despise.” (ESV)

 

 

 

God doesn’t want you to come to him empty-handed.
He asks of you a sacrifice.
Not a grain offerring,
Not a lamb or a bull.
No, that requirement has been satisfied
By the blood of the Lamb.
Yet God asks of you a sacrifice
It is the offerring of words,
Words of humilty,
Words of honesty,
Words of moral courage,
Words of moral candor,
Words that could only be spoken,
By one who rests in grace.
Words of confession are what you must bring.
Place words,
Free of negotiation or excuse,
On His altar of grace,
And receive forgiveness and cleansing.
Uncover your heart,
Exposed by words, and say:
“We will never again say,’Our gods’
To what our own hands have made,
For in You the fatheless find compassion.”
What David willingly did He requires of you,
Come with words,
It is the way of grace,
It is the way of freedom,
It is the way to God.

