Sang this beautiful hymn in church yesterday. There Is A Hope which Stuart Townend co-wrote. This is definitely one hymn I would like played at my funeral. Each time I sing and play it, it brings tears to my eyes.

Read from Romans chapter 5 this morning that tells us why we can rejoice in hope of the glory of God, why we can rejoice in our sufferings. Because we have been justified by faith. As the lyric goes, I stand in Christ with sins forgiven; and Christ in me the hope of heaven.

Romans 5:1 Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. 2 Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God. 3 More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, 4 and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, 5 and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.

Here’s the song writer telling the story behind the hymn.

And here’s the live recording of the hymn from the DVD, There Is A Hope.

THERE IS A HOPE that burns within my heart,

That gives me strength for every passing day;

A glimpse of glory now revealed in meagre part,

Yet drives all doubt away:

I stand in Christ, with sins forgiven;

And Christ in me, the hope of heaven!

My highest calling and my deepest joy,

To make His will my home.


There is a hope that lifts my weary head,

A consolation strong against despair,

That when the world has plunged me in its deepest pit,

I find the Saviour there!

Through present sufferings, future’s fear,

He whispers ‘courage’ in my ear.

For I am safe in everlasting arms,

And they will lead me home.


There is a hope that stands the test of time,

That lifts my eyes beyond the beckoning grave,

To see the matchless beauty of a day divine

When I behold His face!

When sufferings cease and sorrows die,

And every longing satisfied.

Then joy unspeakable will flood my soul,

For I am truly home.


Stuart Townend & Mark Edwards

Copyright © 2007 Thankyou Music

