Was heading out to get chicken rice for the kids before picking them up from school. Steven Curtis Chapman’s ‘When Love Takes You In’ gets shuffled on in the car. One moment, it was the routine of get lunch and kids. Next, it was just complete bawling, ugly crying while waiting for the red light to turn green. I was also thinking if the chicken rice seller would wonder why this customer is so teary eyed.

I guess it’s been a weighty weekend at church. Weighty because we have been considering how God sovereignly, lovingly, chooses to saves His people. This hymn expresses it.

Why was I made to hear they voice and enter while there’s room
When thousands make a wretched choice and rather starve than come?

-Isaac Watts, 1707

I thought about how God could love me and was simply overwhelmed as Steven’s words sang straight to my soul-‘When love takes you in, it takes you in for good.’ On Sunday evening, Kai wanted to watch Veggietales, and I youtubed a random one up. And there in that episode, Andrew Peterson sang-‘I love you today, I love you tomorrow, I love you as deep as the sea. I love you in joy and I love you in sorrow. You can always come home to me. You can always come home. You can always come home. You can always come home to me.’

I also thought about the people whom I spoke with last weekend. How some still have yet to experience the lovingkindness of God and that was heavy. Salvation belongs to the LORD and I’m fully convinced that God is mighty to save His people.

So right there in the car, my heart overflowed with joy and thankfulness because love has brought me home. And I pray for my dear friends that you will one day you will hear our loving  Father God calling you, and hear him say ‘welcome home my son, welcome home!’

For this my son was dead, and is alive again; he was lost, and is found.’ And they began to celebrate. –Luke 15:24 ESV

When love takes you in everything changes
A miracle starts with the beat of a heart
When love takes you home and says you belong here
The loneliness ends and a new life begins
When love takes you in it takes you in for good

