Reading Scotty Smith’s prayer on Lent made me realize that it’s 40 days (not including Sundays) to Good Friday-the day history changed forever.

It’s intriguing to note how Christians seem to be divided over the observance of Lent. Those who oppose fear legalism. Some who practice see it as opportunity for more of Jesus. This is done by giving up and fasting from something.

It’s not the first time I read about Lent. For a foodie and social media consumer like me, fasting and giving up on things doesn’t sound appetizing at all. But this time round, I see that it’s not so much about what is given up but what can be gained.

Leading a bible study on Deuteronomy 5 this week helped me to see how God’s people should delight in God’s law for they have been graciously and powerfully delivered from slavery in Egypt. The psalmist of the 119th Psalm can’t help but proclaim his delight in God’s Word! “I will delight in your statutes; I will not forget your word.” Psalm 119:16

So it didn’t take long for me to be convinced that a fast from social media might give me opportunity to have more of Jesus and His Word. So apps like Paper, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Foursquare and Path are all deleted. I’m sceptic about whether this fast will last. But I pray God may be gracious to reveal more of Himself to me as I stare more at His Word than my iPhone.

One more thing. Some say everyday should be Valentine’s day but it’s not. Neither is Lent. So here’s to a Gospel saturated, Penance free Lent. Amen.

