What is my worth? This is the question that this new hymn, written by Keith and Kristyn Getty (In Christ Alone) and Graham Kendrick (Knowing You), answers. It answers a question that this world asks of everyone. What is your worth?

The world we dwell in values the new and the powerful. The bigger and better iPhone 6 plus that we own now will soon be replaced by the newer and more powerful iPhone 6 plus plus. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a huge fan of Apple. I’m typing this Praiselines on a beautiful MacBook Air that just picked up a phone call from my iPhone 5S. It’s brilliant. But remember…

My worth is not in what I own

Not in the strength of flesh and bone

But in the costly wounds of love

At the cross

The world we dwell in values the skilful and the winners. Last weekend, the world witnessed the most expensive football match, Real Madrid versus Barcelona. Last Saturday’s El Clásico contained more than 1 billion euros worth of football players. This is not even including the world’s most expensive football player, Real Madrid’s Gareth Bale who was out due to injury. Barcelona’s Neymar, partnered by Messi and Suraez, scored early in the third minute. But Ronaldo equalised, Pepe and Benzema won the game for Real Madrid. They are both great football teams but I support Manchester United. But remember…

My worth is not in skill or name

In win or lose, in pride or shame

But in the blood of Christ that flowed

At the cross

The world we dwell in values the famous, the youthful and the beautiful. The search is always on for  the X factor or the next _____ (insert name of reality TV program). Beauty products and services often promise a younger and more beautiful you. But remember…

As summer flowers we fade and die

Fame, youth and beauty hurry by

But life eternal calls to us

At the cross

The world we live in values money and power. Singapore’s 50 richest have an aggregate net worth of 96.9 billion dollars. 40% of which, or almost 40,000,000,000 dollars, is owned by the top 5 richest people. But the Apostle Paul reminds us that without Christ, whatever we gain in this world will be counted as loss. “But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ. Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord” (Philippians 3:7–8, ESV). So let us boast…

I will not boast in wealth or might

Or human wisdom’s fleeting light

But I will boast in knowing Christ

At the cross

“But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us” (Romans 5:8, ESV). This verse contains two wonderful Gospel truths that we must confess. First, author Tim Keller says this of the Gospel, that we are far more sinful and flawed in ourselves than we ever dared believe. Second, yet at the same time we are move loved and accepted in Jesus Christ than we ever dared hope. We don’t believe that we are so sinful that we require someone to die for our sins. We also can’t believe that God would be so gracious to give us life and require nothing from guilty sinners except for the death of Christ. So let us confess…

Two wonders here that I confess

My worth and my unworthiness

My value fixed – my ransom paid

At the cross

So if my worth is not found in all of the above, then what is my worth in? The Psalmist answers, “Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever” (Psalm 73:25–26, ESV). Our worth is found in no where else but at the Cross where Jesus died. It is at the Cross where the holy wrath of God confronts our unworthiness. It is at the Cross where the gracious love of Christ declares our worth. It is at the Cross where the Spirit of God lifts us up as children of God in celebration, “for this my son was dead, and is alive again; he was lost, and is found” (Luke 15:24). So let us rejoice…

I rejoice in my Redeemer

Greatest Treasure,

Wellspring of my soul

I will trust in Him, no other.

My soul is satisfied in Him alone.

“To him who loves us and has freed us from our sins by his blood and made us a kingdom, priests to his God and Father, to him be glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen” (Revelation 1:5b–6, ESV).

