Original Words by Charitie Lees Bancroft (1841-1892), Alternate Words and Music by Vikki Cook

It’s always a joy and privilege to be able to lead the church in song by representing the Gospel of Jesus Christ. And I love leading my little church at home in song. Most nights, we end our devotions with prayer and a song. Tonight, I asked the children, do you know “Before the throne of God”? “Yes, yes!” they replied. So with the company of the night light, I led, “Before the throne of God above…” And the children joined in, “I have a strong a perfect plea”. I could barely get through verse one. I was overwhelmed by the weight of the glory of the Gospel of Christ in the hymn.

Before the throne of God above
I have a strong and perfect plea
A great high priest whose name is Love
Who ever lives and pleads for me
My name is grave on his hand
My name is written on his heart
I know that while in heavn’ he stands
No tongue can bid me thence depart
No tongue can bid me thence depart

One of the girls, Xuan I think, said, “I know there’s more to this song”. “You want to hear verse two?” I asked. And of course the children said, “Yes!”

When Satan tempts me to despair
And tells me of the guilt within
Upward I look and see him there
Who made an end of all my sin
Because the sinless Saviour died
My sinful soul is counted free
For God the just is satisfied
To look on him and pardon me
To look on him and pardon me

I recently heard Graham Kendrick describing those lyrics in verse two as “dynamite”! Indeed it is. It’s Gospel dynamite that destroys all my sin.

Behold Him there, the Risen Lamb
My perfect, spotless righteousness,
The great unchangeable I am,
The King of glory and of grace!
One with Himself I cannot die
My soul is purchased by His blood
My life is hid with Christ on high,
With Christ, my Savior and my God
With Christ, my Savior and my God

Thank you Jesus for the Gospel. May you help my family to cherish the Gospel and treasure you Jesus. Amen.

